AFI Welcomes Six New Board of Trustees in 2020 – American Film Institute


AFI Welcomes Six New Board of Trustees in 2020

AFI is excited to announce the newest members selected to join the Board of Trustees in 2020:

Charlie Collier
CEO, Entertainment, Twenty-First Century Fox Inc.

Ava DuVernay
Filmmaker & Founder of ARRAY

Lisa Jackson
Vice President, Apple
Environment, Policy and Social Initiatives

Michael B. Jordan
Actor, Producer

David Linde
Chief Executive Officer of Participant

Octavia Spencer
Actress, Author and Producer

“AFI’s foundation is built upon the visionary leadership of artists and executives who look to the future,” said Bob Gazzale, President and CEO. “It is with pride that we announce this expansion of the AFI Board of Trustees to include these luminaries who believe in the revolutionary power of visual storytelling to share perspectives, inspire empathy and drive culture forward.”

The American Film Institute began as a presidential mandate to establish film as essential to American identity and to elevate the nation’s greatest art form to its deserving place in history. AFI grew from the seeds planted in 1965 in the White House Rose Garden by President Lyndon B. Johnson to a fully rounded Institute that has defined American film for more than half a century — with the mission to educate and inspire.

In 1967, Gregory Peck was named first chair of the Board of Trustees, and the board featured film luminaries including Francis Ford Coppola, Sidney Poitier, Arthur Schlesinger, Jr. and Jack Valenti. The board continues to be comprised of such artists and icons as Halle Berry, James L. Brooks, Kathleen Kennedy, Eva Longoria, Shonda Rhimes, Steven Spielberg and Ed Zwick.

To view the full list of AFI Board of Trustees, click here.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts