AFI Alumni Win Peabody Awards – American Film Institute


AFI Alumni Win Peabody Awards

Congratulations to the AFI alumni whose projects won Peabody Awards – Miguel Arteta, Diane Becker, Michael Dinner, Susannah Grant, Anna Hauger and Christal Henry. Their projects were among 30 programs deemed the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting and digital media during 2019.

Additionally, this week, DWW alumna Cicely Tyson (DWW Class of 1977) was named as this year’s recipient of the Peabody Awards’ Career Achievement Award. Tyson is an Emmy®-award winner actress and was recently inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame. In 2018, she was awarded an Honorary Academy Award®, making her the first African American woman to receive that  award. Congratulations to a true trailblazer on her Peabody Awards’ Career Achievement Award!


Diane Becker (AFI Class of 2006), Producer


Miguel Arteta (AFI Class of 1990), Director


Michael Dinner (AFI Class of 1979), Director
Susannah Grant (AFI Class of 1991), Co-creator/Director/Writer


Anna Hauger (AFI Class of 2009), Editor

Christal Henry (AFI Class of 2005), Screenwriter


The AFI connections continue: six of this year’s AFI AWARDS honorees (CHERNOBYL, FLEABAG, SUCCESSION, UNBELIEVABLE, WATCHMEN and WHEN THEY SEE US) were also honored with Peabody Awards, along with two documentaries programmed at AFI DOCS 2019 (FOR SAMA and TRUE JUSTICE: BRYAN STEVENSON’S FIGHT FOR EQUALITY).

Check out the full list of Peabody Award winners.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts