Congratulations to This Year’s AFI Writers’ Room Ready Recipients – American Film Institute


Congratulations to This Year’s AFI Writers’ Room Ready Recipients

Now in its second year, AFI Writers’ Room Ready is a program whose mission is to cultivate the next generation of television scriptwriters by giving graduating Fellows an opportunity to work directly with established artists.

AFI Writers’ Room Ready highlights select original scripts from the year’s graduating Screenwriting class at AFI by pairing top writers with accomplished AFI alumni mentors from the industry.

Twenty-three AFI Conservatory Fellows submitted their original pilot scripts last fall to be reviewed by a panel of working alumni. The five selected Class of 2016 Screenwriters for the second-annual AFI Writers’ Room Ready were celebrated at a reception on Tuesday, March 28 on the AFI Campus.

The Class of 2016 recipients, their projects and AFI mentors are:

Recipient: D.M. Brent, “Offender”
Mentor: Michael Dinner (AFI Class of 1979)

Recipient: Victor Nascimento, “The Leading Men”
Mentor: Brad Buecker (AFI Class of 2003)

Recipient: Munis Rashid, “Poppy”
Mentor: Quinton Peeples (AFI Class of 1987)

Recipient: Rose Schimm, “Fringe Benefit”
Mentor: Shana Stein (AFI Class of 1998)

Recipient: Eileen Shim, “Darklings”
Mentor: John Shiban (AFI Class of 1989)

Pictured above, L to R: Quinton Peeples (AFI Class of 1987), Munis Rashid (AFI Class of 2016), Shana Stein (AFI Class of 1998), Rose Schimm (AFI Class of 2016), John Shiban (AFI Class of 1989), Eileen Shim (AFI Class of 2016), Victor Nascimento (AFI Class of 2016), Mike Urban (AFI faculty) and D.M. Brent (AFI Class of 2016)

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts