AFI Writers’ Room Ready Celebrates Class of 2017 Recipients – American Film Institute


AFI Writers’ Room Ready Celebrates Class of 2017 Recipients

AFI Writers’ Room Ready is a program whose mission is to cultivate the next generation of television scriptwriters by giving graduating Fellows an opportunity to work directly with established artists.

The program highlights select original scripts from the year’s graduating Screenwriting class at AFI by pairing top writers with accomplished AFI Conservatory alumni mentors from the industry.

On May 9, 2018, the AFI Conservatory hosted a reception to celebrate the third year of AFI Writers’ Room Ready. Working alumni selected five AFI Class of 2017 recipients. This year’s recipients, and their projects and mentors are:

Recipient: Krystal Javier, “Haukea”
Mentor: Emmy Grinwis (AFI DWW, Class of 2009, writer/producer on TYRANT)

Recipient: Kevin Kennelly, “Saint Francis”
Mentor: Michael Zam (AFI Class of 1985, writer on FEUD)

Recipient: Jess Kohs, “Countess”
Mentor: Maggie Friedman (AFI Class of 1998, writer/producer on WITCHES OF EAST END)

Recipient: Randy McKinnon, “Savages”
Mentor: Chad Feehan (AFI Class of 2004, writer/co-executive producer on RAY DONOVAN)

Recipient: Sheila Wilson, “No Quarter for Wild Beasts”
Mentor: Nastaran Dibai (AFI Class of 1985, writer/executive producer on ACCORDING TO JIM)

Pictured at top: Chad Feehan, Randy McKinnon, Nastaran Dibai, Sheila Wilson, Maggie Friedman, Jess Kohs, Krystal Javier, Emmy Grinwis

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts