AFI Names Inspiring Female Screenwriter To Inaugural Kirk Douglas Fellowship – American Film Institute


AFI Names Inspiring Female Screenwriter To Inaugural Kirk Douglas Fellowship

AFI has named incoming AFI Conservatory Screenwriting Fellow Taryn Procsal as recipient of the Kirk Douglas Fellowship, a full-tuition two-year scholarship awarded to an AFI Conservatory Fellow. Procsal is a single mother of three who was selected to receive the Fellowship due to her extraordinary talent and unique voice. She is entering the Conservatory this fall as one of a full-class of 140 first-year Fellows.

“I am honored and pleased to have Taryn Procsal receive the first Kirk Douglas Fellowship,” said Kirk Douglas.

It is fitting that this Fellowship honors an aspiring screenwriter as Douglas has been a champion for the craft across 70 years in the film community. Most notably, in 1960, Douglas hired blacklisted writer Dalton Trumbo to pen SPARTACUS and gave him full credit on the film, leading to the end of the Hollywood blacklist. Douglas received the19th AFI Life Achievement Award in 1991.

The AFI Conservatory screenwriters include alumni like Sam Esmail (MR. ROBOT), Liz Hannah (THE POST), Brad Falchuk (AMERICAN CRIME STORY, AMERICAN HORROR STORY, GLEE), Scott Frank (OUT OF SIGHT, LOGAN), Susannah Grant (ERIN BROCKOVICH, A GIFTED MAN) and LaToya Morgan (SHAMELESS, PARENTHOOD, TURN).

Comments (4)

Elizabeth Darrow Jones


Nuritte refaela mimon

Bravo !!!!!
So happy for you!!!
The best screenwriter to choose

Daniel Jacobo

It happens – when you believe in yourself!
I hear William Burroughs smiling!

    Donald Devine


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts