AFI Conservatory 2012 Honorary Degree Recipients

The American Film Institute (AFI) today conferred Doctorate of Fine Arts degrees honoris causa upon American comedy icon Mel Brooks and celebrated surrealist David Lynch for "contribution of distinction to the art of the moving image" during AFI Conservatory 2012 commencement of 122 graduates at Hollywood's landmark Grauman's Chinese Theatre.

Previous recipients of the AFI Honorary Degree include Robert Altman, Maya Angelou, Clint Eastwood, Roger Ebert, James Earl Jones, Nora Ephron, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Kathleen Kennedy, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Helen Mirren, Haskell Wexler, John Williams and more.

To learn more about the recipients and AFI Conservatory 2012 commencement, please click here for the full press release.

AFI Membership